Weds 28th July: A day almost washed away

I think this was a day when all sane people ventured out as little as possible.  On the way over to Hong Kong the sampan was caught in a passing squall and the rain was so heavy it was a complete white-out.  I was just praying that it would have eased by the time I hit dry (hah!) land, which it had, but the rain continued throughout the day.  As I’m sure you noticed.

Fuzzy as a puppy (as requested by Karen)

I had a couple of appointments, neither of which were directly involving dogs but were, of course, HKDR-related.  The first was to do with the new Mini Homing Centre which we’re setting up, and more of that as work progresses and we have an estimated opening date.  Work has already started though, and it won’t be too long before adopters can see at least a small selection of dogs on Hong Kong side.  You’ll have to keep checking this blog to get more information.

Next stop was an area of Hong Kong that I didn’t even know existed, and I’ve been living here for twenty six years.  Shek Tong Tsui is tucked away in West Central somewhere, and it was just as well I’d been sent a map.  I was checking out possible rain shelters, something that seems to be taking up a lot of my time at the moment.

Tino as a puppy - another Whippety dog

We had the usual scramble at Tai Po to try to keep as much as possible dry, and as many dogs under shelter as we could, but it seems that Tai Po is the rain centre of Hong Kong.   Even the main house leaks.  I can’t wait for the sample dog house to arrive and just hope it’s going to be as weatherproof as my design is supposed to be. 

Simon and Piers

There were quite a few requests for puppy photos, and I can oblige with some but not all.  I’ve dotted the photos around, and will continue to search for others.

This could be Stella

6 Responses to “Weds 28th July: A day almost washed away”

  1. Marie Says:

    Hope the weather gets better soon!
    Any puppy photos of Sambaburma/Kira, Cashew or Pringle? Bet they were super-cute!

    • Sally Says:

      Hi Marie,
      Sambaburma arrived as older puppies, as did Cashew and Pringle. I’ll have to dig into the archives for possible Kira photos as she was a baby when I got her.

  2. Doris Says:

    Sally,

    You’re right. Piers did get that sad look in his eyes. Wonder why. Anyhow, it’s good to hv one more photo to scan and keep. Hope his luck will come soon.

  3. Deb Debes Says:

    Hmm. Myabe Stella. Looks too lacking in cheekiness! 🙂

  4. Deb Debes Says:

    Oh my goodness, Fuzzy as a puppy is so cute!

  5. Linda Says:

    Hi Sally,

    I just moved to Shek Tong Tsui from Mid-Levels and found that the neighborhood (Sai Wan to Kennedy Town) is a haven for dogs and dog owners. Most residential buildings and complexes allow dog ownership and there’s a spontaneous dog party of up to 50 dogs every night at the pier with stunning views of the harbor and Tsing Ma Bridge. It’s a good area to move to for dog owners and potential adoption venue to showcase HKDR dogs who need homes.

Leave a Reply

