Thurs 22 July: Black rain

I wasn’t sure if the sampans would be running today and was starting to get a bit anxious about not being able to do things that needed to be done, such as my agreement to help get a dog out of AFCD that someone wanted to adopt.   So it was a relief to hear the affirmative “Ho-a, ho-a” when I called to book a time (about the only thing I can do in Cantonese).  My plan was that I’d meet the adopter at 2pm at Pokfulam, sign the dog out, and then go on to do all the other errands.

By now you’ll know that rarely does anything go to plan.  It all started well, with the dog, a kind of pet stray, happily accepting the leash around her neck and bouncing out of her kennel.  I knew what she would immediately want, and was proved right when I walked her over to a small border of earth and plants, and she quickly relieved herself.  Most dogs really hate to soil their kennel areas, and will hold everything for what seems like days judging from the time they take to empty their bladders, and the number of times they poo.

That done, it was time for the rabies shot and microchip, and I held the dog’s head and scratched her ears to distract her while the first injection was given. So far so good.  She swung round when she felt the sting of the needle, but it was all over by then.  Next the microchip, injected between the shoulder blades with a necessarily thick needle.  There’s one senior AFCD staff member who I call “The Master” because he’s so quick with the microchipping that it’s over in a split second.  Unfortunately The Master was off today, so it was left to another, less confident, staff member to do the honours.  Now the dog was getting a bit worried about what was going on behind her back and she was starting to jump around.  The first attempt at inserting the microchip failed when the dog suddenly pulled away, and it only got worse from there.  We tried everything, from a towel over the head to pressing her against a wall, but she was so stressed and anxious by that time that it was getting more and more difficult.  Normally I would have left it and gone back the next day to try again when the dog had calmed, but the adopter wanted it all done and dusted.  So in the end I had to give in and let the AFCD crew pin the dog down, not something I like but at least it’s effective and the job was done.

So with one lucky dog heading off to a very nice home (which also took in her two puppies last week), I thought I would be free to go and do other things.  It had already taken far longer than I’d expected, but that was OK.  It was then that a couple arrived with a dog bag containing a very pretty tan spitz, eleven years old but in very good condition.  It was being surrendered, and you can guess the rest.  Subsequently the furthest I got on my errands was the nearby Park’n’Shop where I had to park the poor dog outside while I rushed round in double-quick time before going straight back to Lamma.

Back at Tai Po the rain was coming down in sheets and there was even less shelter than usual because we had had to take down the gazebos (tents) in case of heavy wind.  Kathy told me there was flooding and that she and a couple of volunteers would be staying overnight to see that everything was OK and the dogs were safe.  You see why I keep saying our HKDR volunteers are the best?  So to Roni, May and Kathy, a special big thank you.

The quarry story is being followed by the online “Lammazine” at http://www.lamma.com.hk.  I’m not the only one upset at the thought of this beautiful site being closed to the public.

One Response to “Thurs 22 July: Black rain”

  1. ivy Says:

    Thanks Kathy, Roni & May!

Leave a Reply

