Wednesday: The clock is ticking

It’s been another day of endless calls and emails, with offers of help and possible site suggestions mixed in with the normal day to day running of the kennels.  In my mind I have been running all over the New Territories trying to figure out where all the places mentioned are.  I have to admit to having an appalling lack of knowledge regarding the geography of anywhere north of Kowloon.  I’ve lived on Lamma for almost all of my time in Hong Kong, and it’s really only been in the last few years of our kennel search that I’ve been venturing out to the far NT.  Actually it’s been interesting and quite an eye opener, and I wish I had more time to explore this place that has become my home.  That and learning to speak Cantonese, as even my basic grasp of the language can’t be understood by anyone.

Anyway, I’m now having to start getting out there again, and tomorrow (Thursday) I’ll be in the Yuen Long area checking out possibilities.  Some of the options that we’d been exploring have already been crossed off the list, the big disappointments being the existing kennel locations.  The best we can hope for now is at least a building of any kind, as converting a barn or a warehouse or a piggery is going to be a lot easier than erecting tents in a field.  Funny thought though, a campsite full of dogs.  Well they are called pup tents after all.  I wonder how long they would last?  Five minutes?

I have been talking to Swire again about the Tung Chung site, and while I’m out in Yuen Long our “technical team” will be sitting down with some of the Swire land experts to discuss whether or not the site is a real option or not. Even if there is hope, it’s going to take time to push it forward, so nothing changes our immediate dilemma.

Every focus now is on getting the dogs into homes, whether permanent (obviously our preference), foster, or even boarding kennels.  For the many of you who have come forward with offer of a temporary home, please understand that we don’t have a  time frame or any way of knowing how long it will take us to set up a new base.  At this point, a two-week foster isn’t going to help as we will be left with the same problem when the dog comes back.  From our side, we guarantee that we will take all foster dogs back when we are able, it’s just that we don’t know when that will be.

Ah Bo, the lovely German Shepherd, went off to have all his bits and bobs done at the vet so he would be ready to go into a foster home while waiting for the time when he can fly to California.  He will go to his temporary home tomorrow.  Whoever ends up adopting this boy will have a wonderful companion.

Buddy is also proving that he is everything I thought he was.  Terry has told me that the newly-named Scotty is sticking to his side like glue, and every day is revealing more of his character.  This is a very special dog, and I’m thankful that I got him out of AFCD and that he was chosen by Terry out of all the others.    There is something about Buddy/Scotty that made him stand out, and it wasn’t his limp (which I didn’t notice when I first met him), but more the way he looked at me and gently but firmly communicated that he needed help.  There was no way I could pass him by and leave him to die.

In all of the madness about our situation, it’s easy to forget that Jay, the dog lost at the airport, is still missing.  From my own experience, when a dog of mine ran away from a foster home and was out in the hills for three months before being caught (in a trap), Jay’s instinctive survival behaviour will be taking care of him, and I’m sure that he will already have found himself a safe place to hide.  Finding out where that place is will mean that a trap can be set (I mean a humane cage trap which won’t harm him at all), but I’m pretty sure that Jay won’t show himself to anyone who is out in the hills and calling his name.  His ears, eyes and nose will be working to warn him when someone is around, and he be will be spotted by chance, probably when he’s out looking for food or water.  I hope he’s still wearing his bandana, as that will make him easy to identify.  AFCD will help with setting a trap if he is accurately identified, and that will be the quickest and safest way of getting him back.

4 Responses to “Wednesday: The clock is ticking”

  1. Nikita Ng Says:

    Hi Sally,

    Sorry that I can’t be a foster family because the restriction of my estate. However, I’ll make a donation in these few days. Meanwhile, I’ve translated your previous post on 19 Apr in Chinese and share it out via Facebook. Hope more people will know the stories of HKDR and can help.

    With best wishes,
    Nikita

  2. Skylarfan Says:

    Hi Sally,

    Hope you will find a new home for HKDR soon.
    How was the search in Yuen Long? I am living in Yuen Long area so if the HKDR is near home, I hope to be a volunteer a lot 🙂

    All the best.

  3. Norma Says:

    Thank goodness for the great news posted on your latest blog.
    Now let’s hope we can find Jay and make everyone even happier.

Leave a Reply

