Fri 26th March: Facebook on the move

The blog is very late today, the result of yesterday’s scratchy throat having become a full blown cold and my mind now being completely been clogged up.  That’s my excuse anyway.

Time flies in the world of dogs.  Four doglets went for desexing today, the last group to take advantage of the SPCA clinic being right across the road from our own kennels, and so close to the AFCD Animal Management Centre.  It’s been a good few years of convenience, but from next week we’ll be back to having to transport dogs to Wanchai, Happy Valley or Tin Hau for anything vet-related.  We have been given a bit longer to pack up and move, for which we’re very grateful, as the preparation of the land for building at the new site is taking far longer than we anticipated. In fact we’re a long way off being able to even start, so yes, we are more than a bit worried.

It’s been a real blessing to have the vet just across the road and we’ve made good friends with the vets who have treated our dogs and puppies. So thank you to Dr Laurie, Dr Karthi, Dr Milan, Dr Tamsin and all the others.  Of course we’ll still see them at Wanchai, but it won’t be quite the same as “our own” clinic.

Just to go back to the doglets and their names, there were Johnny, Fido (recently returned), Puppy Girl (that litter never had names beyond Puppy Girl 1, 2 and 3, and Puppy Boy 1,2 and 3,  and all but Puppy Girl have been adopted), and Pistachio, one of the very beautiful Nutcase Puppies.  After surgery it was off to AFCD for microchipping and licensing, and now all four puppies are officially doglets.

There were happenings on both our website and Facebook page too today.  The website has been undergoing quite a lot of change and inprovement over the past few months, thanks to volunteer Silvena who turned out to be something of a superstar in the computer programming department.  Things that we’d wanted to do for ages but hadn’t had the capability have suddenly become not just possible, but a reality.  Today our online store opened, and more stock will be added in time.  Check it out.

The old Facebook Fan Page, which was experiencing sporadic problems beyond our control, will not be updated any longer and we need all of our fans to move to the new Hong Kong Dog Rescue (HKDR) page so you can continue to get all the latest news and updates as they happen.  I know it’s annoying, but it had to be done.  I have other hardworking volunteers to thank for this project including Silvena (again!), Vivian, Foster and Yanki.  I love our volunteers, and couldn’t wish for a nicer, more supportive group of people. Respect!

The sale of designer clothes has been an amazing success and I heard that the place has been packed with people taking advantage of the bargain prices.  I think all expectations have well been exceeded, and what started as a small idea amongst a group of friends  just grew and grew as word got around.  A bit like Hong Kong Dog Rescue itself really.  I don’t know what I would have done if I had been able to foresee how it would all grow and take over my life.  Would I have run, or would I have continued?  I’ll never know the answer to that now.

I’ve been going to Aberdeen for all of the twenty six years that I’ve lived in Hong Kong, as the first two years I lived on a yacht at the Aberdeen Marina Club and thereafter on Lamma, so Aberdeen has always been my nearest shopping centre/drop off point.  Although most of the sampan drivers know me, and some of the local shopowners, today I heard my name called a few times.  I forgot that the TV programme, Dolce Vita, which aired in English on Pearl, was also shown on Jade in Chinese, so now I’m a (minor) celebrity!

One Response to “Fri 26th March: Facebook on the move”

  1. Rachael Says:

    I really like Silvena’s improvements on the website, great stuff!

Leave a Reply

