Thurs 25th March: Early morning thoughts

I woke in the morning with a very scratchy throat, the result of either the hideous pollution, the sudden drop in temperature overnight, or my yelling at the dogs to stop barking at all hours.  For some reason I was also thinking about dogs and desexing (can’t imagine why!), and remembering our first family dog which my parents brought home one day after years of begging and pleading by myself and my three siblings. 

I was about ten years old at the time, and the puppy was a Welsh Border Collie whose parents were both working dogs on a farm in Sussex (England).  We lived next door to a vet and I remember spending a lot of time there, sometimes in the surgery but mostly playing with his many cats, guinea pigs and chickens.  He was a country vet who dealt with farm animals, and not only did he not desex his own pets (resulting in endless litters of kittens), he didn’t even mention the subject to us and our dog was therefore also not desexed, and was eventually run over and killed while out after one of the local bitches in season.

The next dog we had was one of a litter of ten puppies that were produced by a labrador we were looking after while the owners were on holiday.  They weren’t aware that their dog was expecting, and nor were we, but we looked after the puppies until they found homes, and kept one for ourselves.  He was a beautiful dog, very large but very sweet and gentle, and he too was run over and killed by a car.

By the time I got my next dog I had long left home and the dog was a cocker spaniel I inherited when I moved in with a boyfriend.  Phaedra had belonged to the previous girlfriend who had left her behind when she moved out. She, the dog,  wasn’t desexed either and produced the inevitable litter, even though I had kept her inside the garden when she came into season (by then I had at least learned that much). 

What I know now is that when a bitch is on heat, there is nothing that will stop the local males from finding a way to mate with her, and she will in turn do her best to let them.  And now I’m older and wiser and times have thankfully changed, at least in many parts of the world, and desexing is even compulsory in some places.  How I wish that was the case here too.  I can’t understand why anyone would prefer to have a female who came into season twice a year, with the accompanying blood and trail of male dogs following behind, not to mention the health aspects (no mammary tumours or pyometra).  Or an “entire” male, whose uppermost thought twenty four hours a day is sex and how to get it  (yes, I know, it’s not only dogs).

But the worst thing about not desexing are the unwanted puppies produced as a result.  I mentioned the nine now-doglets born to the dog that was adopted from me as a puppy, and there are so many other cases resulting in thousands of puppies born to die.  They die by being thrown out to succomb to starvation, disease or accident, by being deliberately killed (and, if the rumours are true, eaten), or by lethal injection.  It’s not good enough for dog owners to say after the event that it was an accident that their dog had puppies.  There’s no excuse these days for not understanding about desexing and the result.

I took seven more puppies out of AFCD today.  I don’t know what their future will be or if they will find homes before they grow into adults, or even after.  They’re mongrels of course, cute, sweet and friendly, but can they compete with what’s being sold at the pet shops, the must-have designer breeds (of which the Tibetan Mastiff is now one of the breeds topping the list of most desirable)?  The answer is no, of course.

A supporter has offered us two tickets to an Andrea Bocelli performance for 4th May.  They are second row, valued at $3380 each, and are completely sold out at the box office.  Luckily for us, the ticket holder is now unable to go so has kindly donated the tickets to HKDR.  Be quick if you want them ….

3 Responses to “Thurs 25th March: Early morning thoughts”

  1. Norma M Says:

    I too grew up in a home with a million animals. Rabbits, ginea pigs, pet rats or mice and of course dogs and cats. For some reason most of our dogs were female and we always had them spayed but it seemed it was unheard of for male dogs to be de-sexed. Even when I married and had my own dogs and cats the vets never suggested having them de-sexed and I only did the female dogs. Having learned a lot since those days I now know the health benefits and behavioural benefits of having your animals de-sexed, not to mention the prevention of un-wanted pregnancies.
    I now make it my mission to educate my family and friends about these things and try and make sure that everyone understands how important it is.

  2. India Says:

    Hey great news! Linus’s foster took him for his de-sexing yesterday. He is doing great. Kudos.

  3. Jesslyn Cheong Says:

    Yes exactly. Hong Kong should really pass a law that all pets must be desexed except for a small number of registered breeders, just like what Tasmania did. I don’t want to see feral animals running around Hong Kong and ending up get killed, but the problem just get more and more serious, just like the feral cats problems in Australia!

Leave a Reply

