Mon 15th March: King and collars

Not having been at the kennels since Friday, it felt like I was walking into a Pekingese pet shop today.  We now have six of them in the office if you include Luca, our long-termer, as he’s a cross. 

Laughing Steve

The newest arrival, formerly Ketamine (!) now Kes, just wanted to climb onto my lap for a cuddle.  Well actually, what he really wanted was to use me as a stepping stone to get onto the desk, but as we’ve had to replace Kathy’s monitor due to being peed on before, desks are definitely off-limits now.

Hegel and Snowball are the two pekes we took from the woman who said the young one had a large growth on his belly (untrue), then there is Steve from AFCD and Blinky, a young boy who has been in foster for a while but is now back with us.

Fortunately, and as expected, the other small office dogs have been leaving for new homes or at least fosters, so it could be worse.  Even Midge, the puppy-maybe-dog of unknown age, has gone to a foster home.  I can’t wait to find out how she’s doing.

With the usual mix of dread and reluctance, I went to AFCD to see what was there and who had come in over the weekend that urgently needed help.  The dog catchers had been to Cheung Chau and there were a lot of new inmates that had been picked up and brought in.  These are almost always the semi-owned dogs that are allowed to wander freely, just doing their own thing, until the day that the men with nooses arrive.  Not being scared of people, these dogs are easy targets and are, to my knowledge, never reclaimed by their owners for fear of being prosecuted.  I have taken many ex-Cheung Chau dogs out for re-homing.  If anyone liveson the island and knows either the dogs or the owners of the dogs that have just been caught, please let me know.  I’m more than happy to reunite people and dogs as long as they are willing to be the registered owners and take responsibility for their dogs (and have them desexed!)

King, a gentle giant

There was one dog there that has been waiting a long time.  This very large and lovely German shepherd had someone willing to take him, but due to various factors including holidays/bureacracy/laziness/whatever (and nothing to do with AFCD themselves), the dog was still sitting there.  His skin hadn’t been great when he first arrived (he has demodex), but the weeks of confinement had resulted in a stinking mess.  I couldn’t stand it any longer and insisted that I would take the dog out myself as he was by now urgently in need of medical attention. I know that King, as I called him, will be heading off to California once he has recovered, so it was an easy decision for me to make.  I’m just angry that he was left to rot for so long resulting in pain and suffering for King, and a delay in his eventual re-homing.

Every other dog at AFCD will have to wait another day, but I’ll be back.

Once I’d sorted out King’s situation and he’d been checked by the vet, fed, medicated and settled, it was time for something a bit different.  At Whiskers’n’Paws on Sunday I was given a box full of new collars, a gift from one of our supporters, Jack (and thank you!).    This was a badly needed donation, as quite a few of our doglets had outgrown their puppy collars and others were simply worn out and unsafe.  So I positioned myself at the kennel gates as the volunteers came in and out with their charges, and replaced all the old and too-small collars with new ones, or at least as many as I could.  We can continue tomorrow.  (Volunteers, if you are taking out a dog that needs the collar replacing, please ask for a new one).

My journey back to Lamma at the end of the day was an interesting one.  By then there was thick fog at sea, and the creaky and slow sampan that I was in, with an equally slow and creaky driver,  got completely lost.  We just narrowly avoided being mown down by one the the monster container ships that are a constant presence in the channel, and it was pure luck that we came across a fishing boat and were able to ask the way.  Even then by the time I sighted land we were well off course, but were at least able to inch back along the coast to the bay where I live.  The lights of my house were never more welcoming.

9 Responses to “Mon 15th March: King and collars”

  1. Gloria Says:

    Ha….ha…. Sally, you make me remember what Arnold Schwarzenegger said at the end the movie ” Terminator”: I’ll be back!

  2. Rachael Says:

    We were on the Macau Ferry and they were struggling….so I can’t imagine how it would have been on a sampan, you couldn’t see 5 ft ahead of you, very scary…..

  3. Norma M Says:

    Oh Sally, glad you made it home safely, what would we do without you? Hope that you never have to experience those dangers again.

    • Sally Says:

      Having lived here for over 20 years I have had a lot of hair-raising experiences, especially in the fog, but thankfully I’m still here to laugh about it!

  4. Doris Says:

    Sally, pls take the bigger ferry next time you came across such nasty fog or weather. Don’t risk taking the sampan. What would happen to the dogs if you bump into an accident

    • Sally Says:

      Hi Doris,
      If there was a ferry service to where I lived of course I would use it, but sampan is the only way I can get there. I live one hour’s walk from the nearest ferry, and that involves walking though dark wooded areas without any lighting. It’s not something I would want to do at night (although I have a few times). It’s the reason why I can live here with so many dogs.

  5. Rebecca Says:

    I am more worry about later when the Kennel has to move to TC. How are u gonna get to the office? No more Puppy Adoption Sunday (How are u taking puppies to Hong Kong Island from TC)? Would the number of volunteers decrease??

    • Sally Says:

      I will still foster the baby puppies on Lamma so the adoption afternoons every Sunday will continue as usual. Although I know we will lose some volunteers from Pokfulam, there will hopefully be new recruits who will find the other location more convenient. I will have to work more from home as yes, going to the kennels every day will not be possible. We will have to work out all the details once we have made the move.

  6. Barbara Says:

    Hi Sally,
    In Tung Chung there are a few secondary schools you should post with. I know you have a few great secondary kids now and I am sure new recruits would love to volunteer now in TC. Also there are lots of secondary school aged kids in Discovery Bay.

Leave a Reply

