Fri 5th March: Here we go again

I hadn’t intended going to AFCD today.  Yesterday I went to take out an old dog I’d seen, a very sweet boy who came to the gate of his kennel with his tail wagging when he saw me.  He was very dirty with oil and grease, like all of the dogs that live in places like car repair shops, but I could see he was very beautiful underneath all of that black grime.  The reason I went to take him was because I had heard that two old dogs that had been adopted by volunteer Terry, saviour of the large senior citizens, had had to be put to sleep.  One of them was the dalmation Spotty, whose four legs had given way after only a short time, leaving the poor boy in pain and unable to move.  There was no choice but to let him go.  Anyway, losing two dogs in just two days meant that Terry had space for another, and although he said he wanted to wait a while, when I told him about the old boy at AFCD Terry said yes.

Young Buddy had me fooled!

So I made a special trip to AFCD on Thursday, happy because I knew that I could take the old boy, now Buddy,  out without having to worry about his future and whether he would ever find a home.  Walking him out of his kennel, I saw that he was very lame on one of his back legs, so I was doubly happy that he would get treatment for it, whatever the problem was.  But I got a big surprise when I looked in Buddy’s mouth to make an assessment of his age.  What I saw was a gleaming set of lovely white teeth, meaning that Buddy was no more than a year old!  His demeanour and dirty coat had fooled me into thinking that he was a tired and worn out old boy, but not at all.  So Buddy got lucky that day, and now we just have to sort his leg out, give him a good scrubbing, and he’ll be ready to go.  Somewhere, but not Terry’s home!

The 3-year old chow chow girl at AFCD

Having been to AFCD the day before, and not needing to make another visit until Monday, the only reason I went today was to introduce volunteer Gloria to the chow chow who is waiting to be taken out.  Gloria is a fan of the breed, and has a lovely chow chow boy of her own, Popeye.  She is also a member of the Chow Chow Club, and she’s hoping that she can find at least a foster home for the AFCD girl. 

Walking into the kennel block I couldn’t stop myself from looking at the other dogs, just in case there was a new one that needed help.  And indeed there was.  In the very first kennel there was a tiny poodle scrunched in the corner, wearing a blue coat to cover the almost total lack of hair and the scabby and crusty skin, a sure sign of scabies (otherwise known as sarcoptic mange).  The puppy girl

Mimosa, just a puppy.

was so like the recent cases that I took out (the three shiba inus and another poodle), that it was no surprise to hear that this one was also found in the Aberdeen area.  It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work out that someone in that vicinity is breeding these dogs at home, and they are all being infected with the highly contagious scabies mite.  I’m guessing that once the skin is so badly infected, the puppy is thrown onto the street.  That’s five dogs now, all found in the same area and all with the same degree of skin infection.

I called the poodle puppy Mimosa, and she has already started treatment for the horrible itchy scabies, and is also wearing a new coat to stop her scratching herself.    Can anyone foster this adorable puppy?  Scabies is infectious, but the mites can’t live on humans and the worst that can happen is an itchy bite.  The good thing is that scabies is easy to treat, and disappears very quickly.  The shiba inus and the other poodle are now 100% fine.  Update: Mimosa has a foster home.  Yay!

Finally, read this article. 

It’s old news for many and I’m in no way suggesting that puppies shouldn’t be vaccinated, in fact it’s absolutely essential that they are.  But vaccinating a dog every year for it’s entire life is something else. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1255863/Vaccines-making-dogs-sick-vets-cash-in.html

13 Responses to “Fri 5th March: Here we go again”

  1. Patsy Says:

    How is the poodle- one caught with the two shiba inus – doing?

  2. Abby and Lou Says:

    Bless Terry – Spotty had a home before he left us.

  3. Pato Says:

    What a sad news to knew dalmation Spotty pass away. I hope abd bless Spotty can rest in pease and will be happy and good fortune in next life no matter being a human or dog……… I will keep memory of Spotty.

  4. Gloria Says:

    I was totally shocked when I first saw the poodle. This is the result when there is no restriction on “home breeders”. True, the system fails. The guy who dumped this little dog should be living somewhere in Aberdeen and we are going the track him down. And if any of you live in Aberdeen might know the source to find this guy, pls e-mail Sally. There is no way to let this scumbag use these dogs as tools to make money for his own pocket.

    • Sally Says:

      Of course it might be a woman, but either way if anyone knows who is selling poodles and shiba inus in the Aberdeen area, yes, please let me know.

  5. DL Says:

    oh! Poor Spotty. But it was so good that at least he had a home and space to run around and friends to make just before he had to go. Out of curiosity, how old was Spotty?

    I’m also in the camp of believing in giving less jabs/vaccinations for dogs. Ever since my first vet visit for my dog, I’ve unfortunately developed a mistrust for vets – they seem to me, for the most part, money-grubbing professionals.

    • Sally Says:

      Vets are like every other profession. There are really good dedicated vets whose first priority is always the animal they’re treating, and there are those to whom being a vet is a business first and the animals come lower down the scale of importance. You just need to find a vet you trust to do the best for your pet without over-treating or over-prescribing just to make money.

  6. Hannah Says:

    I agree with not giving adult dogs excessive vaccinations… and I have been skipping my dog’s booster jab for 2 years in a row. I am faced with a problem though when it comes to boarding my dog… they asked to see her vac record! Any advice would be greatly appreciated regarding who or where I can board my dog with who is not such a stickler for vaccinations? Thanks!!

    • Sally Says:

      I’m not sure, and to be honest I think it’s right that boarding kennels need proof of vaccinations. So many people never vaccinate their dogs and with the last thing any kennel would want is for an infectious disease to be introduced. We get a lot of unvaccinated dogs surrendered, and some of those dogs have ended up dying.

  7. Pocky Says:

    Who is doing this to poodles. Is it against the law to chuck dogs off to the street in HK? There should be some punishment imposed on people like that and force them to close their breeding business

    • Sally Says:

      It is illegal to abandon dogs on the street like this, but as nobody knows who’s doing it there’s nobody to arrest and charge. In any case, prosecutions for animal abuse are rare, and even if successful the fines are laughable. You get a harsher penalty for dropping a piece if litter.

  8. Doris Says:

    I work in Aberdeen and I have lots of students living in that area. Could someone tell me what is shiba inus in Chinese so that I can help to track this beast down.

  9. Susan Says:

    Doris, Shiba inu in Chinese is 柴犬. You can find photos for your students’ reference at:
    http://puppydogweb.com/dogs/shibainu.htm

Leave a Reply

