Thurs 25th February: Manuka magic

Jelly the puppy died.  Now that’s two mystery puppy deaths and it’s very worrying. Nobody knows what’s happening and that makes prevention and treatment impossible.  On Monday Jelly was fine, late Tuesday she was dead.  I still don’t know what Dreamer’s problem was either, so when I noticed that yet another puppy wasn’t her normal, exuberant self, my heart sank.  Not another one, please. 

Puppy girl Boo looks like a baby Rocco

In my previous life, before dogs took over and all else was erased from my brain, I was very involved in natural health and holistic treatments (and I’m still a firm believer).  Dredging through my memory bank, I recalled that Manuka honey had medicinal properties, as well as nutritional.  I knew that I had a jar, so with nothing to lose I stuck my finger in the honey, scooped out a blob, and stuck it in the puppy’s mouth.  She had to swallow it, and seemed to like the taste anyway, so I gave her a couple more blobs.  It certainly seemed to do the trick, as she’s now back to normal.  I don’t know if it was the honey, although the rush of sugar would have given her an immediate boost, but it’s been longer than that.  Maybe the honey just kick-started her system back into life, I don’t know, but I’ll remember it for next time.  (You can check out information on Manuka honey on the internet).

Little Nimitz is also fine after his health scare, and he was rewarded with a new home (in other words, he was adopted).  There’s a nice follow-up article on the sailors’ visit:

 http://www.navy.mil/search/display.asp?story_id=51461
I must remember to let the USS Nimitz volunteer group know that they had a dog named after their ship.

Whizz, the little guy who had to have the mutilated end of his tail removed, is also making a very quick recovery and seems to have lost all interest in chasing what’s left.  I’m sure it was the pain that made him do it, not neurological problems as claimed by the ex-owners who left him at AFCD. Hic character has changed completely since the surgery, and he’s a very happy boy now.

I took a little dog from AFCD today.  When I first saw her I thought she was a small-sized adult mongrel, then changed my mind to thinking she was a puppy.  When I had her microchipped and needed to enter an age on the license, I checked her teeth again and went back to my original opinion that she was a young adult with a couple of retained puppy teeth (which happens).  Her molars were already quite yellow, and she had a full set of them.  As usual, she went straight to the vet for a check-up and vaccination, where there followed a discussion on the dog’s real age.  The vet said she was four to five months, while I pointed out the fact that she had a full set of adult gnashers, and that they were already dirty.  So the answer is, time will tell.  If Midge grows bigger, she’s a puppy.  If she doesn’t, then she’s already an adult.

Betty, the Tibetan mastiff, as an adoption interview on Saturday and if she passes she’ll be going to live with labradoodle, Teddy.  He’s doing very well in his new home, and I’m very happy for him.  This is a nice home and the best chance Betty has of growing into a well-rounded character.  There is actually an adult Tibetan mastiff at AFCD at the moment, and he’s doing time for biting.  They’re not huge dogs, as their legs are quite short, but they’re strong and powerful.

5 Responses to “Thurs 25th February: Manuka magic”

  1. Diana Says:

    I have warned the AFCD that the growing popularity of Tibetan Mastiff in HK will end up in some being abandoned. They guard, they’re powerful and their breed personality may make re-homing adult TM in HK difficult. I haven’t come across news about a Tibetan Mastiff biting people. Wonder if you know who that adult TM bite. A visitor, a stranger or its owner and how serious the injury was? Meanwhile, I’m praying that the potential adopter will take Betty.

  2. Ellen Says:

    Wonder if cats will be willing to lick up Manuka honey as readily as dogs will?

    And thank you to sailors once again!

  3. Norma M Says:

    I heard that you can use it for emergency diabetes in animals also until you manage to get them to the vet. You rub in on their gums so they have to swallow it.

Leave a Reply

