Weds 24th February: Facing my fears

There was a big response to yesterday’s post about the Tibetan mastiff, Betty. She’s currently staying on Lamma and having fun with a group of puppies who are slightly older than her, but also smaller of course. She’s placid, sweet and cuddly, and hopefully in the right home with the right family she’ll grow up to be a nice dog.

A caged husky - what could be worse?

There’s no shortage of idiots in the world, and here’s another one.  I was asked by someone who has adopted in the past if we could help his friend who bought a husky puppy, now six months old, but lives where dogs aren’t allowed and now needs to rehome it.  I had to ask the question: why did your friend buy a husky when he lives in a place that doesn’t allow pets?   

“The reason why he bought the Husky is that he under estimated the situation. He does not know that a Husky needs space and needs to exercise frequently. Now the Husky is always kept in a small cage, and I suggest him to ask HKDR for help and he wants some good people can take care of the Husky puppy.”
Of course we’ll take the poor dog, but the mind truly boggles at the total stupidity and selfishness of some people.
I had a meeting to go to in Central, but just as I was getting ready to leave the house I noticed one of the baby pups was lying quietly on the floor while the rest of the bunch were jumping around and playing.  I picked her up and found she was virtually comatose, so instead of the meeting I rushed instead to Wanchai SPCA.  (Why do these emergencies always happen at weekends or the one weekday when there’s no vet at Pokfulam?).  I left the pup, Jelly, at hospital where she’d been attached to a glucose drip, too late for the meeting, and having used up almost the whole afternoon.
Arriving at kennels, I’m usually greeted in the office by all the small dogs jumping up and down for attention, but today the chihuahua, Nimitz, didn’t move.  He’s a fantastic little guy, usually so cheerful and friendly, but today – nothing.  He didn’t want to walk and he cried out in pain when he moved, so he too was taken off to Wanchai (damn Wednesdays!).  I’m waiting to hear Kathy’s report on what the verdict was, but thankfully it doesn’t seem to be his spine, always a danger with small dogs.

Spotty is now in a home for retired dogs

I mustn’t forget to include some good news, so here it is.  Dalmation Spotty has gone off to his retirement home on Lantau with one of our volunteers, Terry.  Terry has taken a few of our senior citizens now, and while he prefers mongrels over purebreeds (good man!), we both agreed that Spotty couldn’t help the fact that he was born with a title and deserved to spend his days in a nice home with lots of space and freedom as much as any other dog.   Spotty has a new name to go with his new home and is now called George.

Now that we’re coming to the end of February (where does the time go?) I’m starting to have nightmares about the impending move, even though I’m looking forward to having all the extra space and lovely walks right on our doorstep.  How will we manage?  What will happen if the new place isn’t ready when we have to leave Pokfulam?  How will we physically move all the dogs in a day?  We need to recruit new staff, including a driver for our donated van, and at least one extra cleaner.  We need volunteers, though thankfully we’re already getting lots of promises from Lantau residents.   All these questions that I get asked on an almost daily basis I currently have no answer for.  I’ve never done this sort of thing before, and while I’m always game for a challenge I’m immensely grateful for the professionals (and amateurs) who have stepped up to offer their help and support.  I know that we’ll do it, because we have to, but I wish I could skip this particular part and move straight onto the bit where we are already there, the dogs in their new homes, the office up and running, and the adopters pouring in …….  That is, after all, the point of it all.
11 Responses to “Weds 24th February: Facing my fears”

  1. Rachael Says:

    Well done Terry! Terry’s place is dog paradise with a beautiful big garden, lucky Spotty/George!

  2. ken Says:

    Sally, I have a friend who has a house with 10,000 sq ft garden. He had a Tibetan mastiff before which died out at old age. If nobody would take Betty, I can ask him to adopt Betty.

    • Sally Says:

      Hi Ken,
      I’ve just heard from a very nice home for Betty. They also have a lot of space and other dogs for Betty to play with. They’re meeting her on Saturday, and I think they’ll find her hard to resist. But please ask your friend about adopting other dogs, or even fostering for the period until the new site is ready. Thank you.

  3. Pauline Ng Says:

    Remembered that someone is interested on husky previously as she wishes to adopt one and she has also a husky . The one who lives in discovery bay. Can you send me any information if this husky is still looking for a home? Thanks. Hopefully if I can be of any help.

  4. eu Says:

    Very glad to know that Terry who organize home for older dogs. There are quite a number of small groups in HK formed by dog-lovers, with the intention of pure love for dogs. The strength of these self-motivated small groups should be encouraged. Together they formed a good support networks for dogs.

  5. Diana Says:

    I hope Betty will find the right home soon.

  6. Norma M Says:

    Terry is a marvel!
    Spotty will have a lovely home and several doggy friends.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

