Weds 17th February: I rescued a human today

I took the baby puppy to hospital today.  I had to go through the vaccination records to find out what his name was, not really having wanted to do so before in case he didn’t make it.  I had called him Dreamer.  The sampan ride is hard for sick babies at the best of times, but today it was rough and very cold, so I stuck one of the heat pads in my pocket and held Dreamer close.  I was dreading seeing the vet and being told that I needed to let him go as he had fought so hard, and although at one point in the journey I was convinced he had finally gone, we made it to Wanchai with him still clinging to life. I was asked the inevitable question: “What do you want to do?” and had to say please try.  So he was taken to be put on a glucose drip and so far I haven’t heard any news, so I’m hoping that’s a positive sign.

Although the cold weather makes my brain turn to sludge and my fingers to ice lollies, there is always a lot to be done even if not on the dog side of things.  The Fundraising Team is busy planning all sorts of events to cater to everyone’s tastes, and we have organising to do, as well as brainstorming new ideas.  We desperately need to bring in enough to cover the cost of building the Lantau kennels and time is running short.

We’ve been having a bit of a panic about the move as the time comes closer.  We are going to be needing foster homes at least, as the probability (actually certainty) is that the site won’t be ready to move into by the time we have to leave Pokfulam.  So if you can look after one (or more) of our dogs for a couple of months, please, please let us know.  Maria will be handling this (as she does with all the foster cases) so email her at foster@hongkongdogrescue.com to let her know.  At the moment the moving date is 31st March, and unless we hear otherwise (which we’re seriously hoping), we’ll be packing up to leave on that date.  Please tell all you friends, neighbours, work colleagues – anyone – about this, and help us to get as many dogs into temporary homes as possible.

We’re still working together with the Eclipse Group of restaurants and bars, who included HKDR in their great “Giving Back” scheme, which started with the $2 being added to every bill and then matched by Eclipse.  Although that particular part ended at Chinese New Year, the project continues with  fundraisers for the various charities, and while we are still working on HKDR’s events, on Saturday 20th February there’s an early evening offer at McSorley’s in Soho which is too good to miss if you’re a beer drinker.  From 6pm-8pm it’s free flowing ale for only $100, but you must bring your own glass!  This is because the event is to highlight the Plastic Vortex, the gigantic mass of plastic that’s floating in the Pacific Ocean, a result of the plastic that’s polluting our life.  I’m sure many of you feel strongly about this, as I know I certainly do (and I avoid plastic like the plague at home).   So please support this event – and the beer!

One of our adopters, Barbara, sent this to us and it’s so lovely I wanted to include in my blog. 

I rescued a human today.

Her eyes met mine as she walked down the corridor peering apprehensively into the kennels.

I felt her need instantly and knew I had to help her.

I wagged my tail, not too exuberantly, so she wouldn’t be afraid.

As she stopped at my kennel I blocked her view from a little accident I had in the back of my cage.

I didn’t want her to know that I hadn’t been walked today.

Sometimes the shelter keepers get too busy and I didn’t want her to think poorly of them.

As she read my kennel card I hoped that she wouldn’t feel sad about my past.

I only have the future to look forward to and want to make a difference in someone’s life.

She got down on her knees and made little kissy sounds at me.

I shoved my shoulder and side of my head up against the bars to comfort her.

Gentle fingertips caressed my neck; she was desperate for companionship.

A tear fell down her cheek and I raised my paw to assure her that all would be well.

Soon my kennel door opened and her smile was so bright that I instantly jumped into her arms.

I would promise to keep her safe

I would promise to always be by her side.

I would promise to do everything I could to see that radiant smile and sparkle in her eyes.

I was so fortunate that she came down my corridor.

So many more are out there who haven’t walked the corridors.

So many more to be saved.

At least I could save one.

I rescued a human today.

(By Janine Allen)

http://rescuemedog.org/dog-blog/i-rescued-a-human-today-by-janine-allen/

Written by Janine Allen CPDT, Rescue Me Dog’s professional dog trainer. Janine’s passion is working with people and their dogs. She provides demonstrations for those who have adopted shelter dogs, lends email support to adopted dog owners that need information beyond our Training Support Pages, and aids shelter staff and volunteers in understanding dog behavior to increase their adoptability. Copyright 2010 Rescue Me Dog; http://www.rescuemedog.org

 

10 Responses to “Weds 17th February: I rescued a human today”

  1. Angie Says:

    Author unknown,
    Bless you.

  2. max Says:

    Please update Dreamer’s condition if any! Wish him all the best! Thanks, Sally.

  3. Lana Says:

    That poem is so beautiful, it brought a tear to my eye 🙂

  4. Yolanda Yan Says:

    Dreamer, hang in there….you are in my prayer.

    Yeah, that poem is very touching. It instantly connected me to the scene as we walked along the kennel.

  5. Fiona Says:

    That’s exactly it….they look for us, not the other way around. I always say that the day I discovered an abandoned puppy (two of them actually, the other one was taken by a friend) my dog found me, I didn’t find him. Just so incredibly beautiful and evocative.

  6. Marie Says:

    Yes, I love this poem too.
    I know for a fact that dogs have rescued me many times over. Where would I be without them?
    They are my angels!

  7. Eva Says:

    Nice poem!
    It’s so true that it’s definitely my own experience. I have adopted a peke (Cloudy) in HKDR in 2004, since then, my life has been changed! Not only me, but also my whole family. My mom always said Cloudy brings so much happiness and love to our family. Thanks again Sally for giving Cloudy and us a chance to meet each other!

  8. Janine Says:

    Author of I Rescued A Human Today: Janine Allen CPDT
    Copyright to Rescue Me Dog
    http://rescuemedog.org/dog-blog/i-rescued-a-human-today-by-janine-allen/

Leave a Reply

