Sat 13th February: My early Sunday

As it’s actually Sunday morning now, I’ll start by wishing everyone a very happy and prosperous Year of the Tiger.  Kung Hei Fat Choy!  I’m going to be celebrating by having a day at home, something I haven’t done for quite a long time. 

Magenta's brother Magnus, equally gorgeous

Saturday was my Sunday anyway, as I had a mini puppy adoption afternoon outside the kennels instead of my regular Sunday slot at

Puppy Cracker, another stunner

 Whiskers’n’Paws.  They are closed for the Chinese New Year holidays, and I wanted to see if any of my beautiful pups could find a home instead of having to wait yet another week.  No luck sadly, but at least Magenta went off to her new foster home and she will stay there until she finds a permanent adopter.  I’m sure it won’t take long as Magenta is a Grade One puppy, meaning that she ticks all the right boxes.  Cute (very), happy and friendly, yes, sweet natured, totally.

Cutiepie Trudy with a full tail

There were a few dogs adopted from kennels, although I haven’t yet received the full update from the adoption team.  While I was there I saw (spaniel)Mopsy and (beagle) Snoopy leave, so there’s two at least.  The new schnauzer, Trudy, also got a lot of attention and I don’t think she’ll have to wait long for a home.  The lovely thing about Trudy, apart from her sweet nature, is that she has a full tail, something I haven’t seen on a schnauzer before.  I do wish that tail docking and ear mutilation would be banned here as it has been in the UK for many years.  I hate to see dogs who have had their tails or ears cut off, and can’t imagine why anyone would still want to do it.  It’s barbaric, old fashioned and ugly.  Corgis, spaniels, rottweilers, schnauzers, boxers, dobermans, miniature pinschers (lots of German breeds here) all suffer the pain of having their tails docked as puppies, and many times you can see it’s been a home job, probably with a kitchen knife or a pair of scissors, particularly with the ears.  Why?

Bizzy enjoying the scenery

I spent some time with the new mini miniature pinscher, Bizzy.  He’s a tiny little thing, very scared right now, but he loves to be carried.  I took him outside and we sat on the bench with him wrapped in my jacket, while volunteers Yanki and Vivian tried to get some photos (at the same time feeding him chicken, which he gulped down).  I would guess that Bizzy has never been outside before, but as long as he felt safe in my arms he was very interested in everything that was going on.  I think he’ll make a lovely little friend for someone.

Leave a Reply

