Tuesday 3rd November: Sandy’s off day

There was something up with my terrier, Sandy, in the morning. At first I thought it was the sudden drop in temperature as she sat at the top of the stairs shaking, but when she didn’t join the morning walk I knew it was more than that. When I got back it was the big test – would she eat? By then she was hiding under the bed and wouldn’t let me touch her. If I stretched my arm under from one side, she shuffled over to the other, always just out of reach. A pet food company had recently donated a lot of cans of dog food from New Zealand, the main ingredient of which I call bush babies, but they’re actually brushtails. Close enough for me, and not nice. Still, the dogs absolutely love the taste, including Sandy, so that’s what I offered her. She ate, and I knew it was nothing too serious.

Flapper, the dog who ran away in Central yesterday, was found at the top of the Peak by volunteer, Joanne, presumably on his way back to the kennels via the scenic route. I had hoped he’d find his way back, as most dogs do if they’re not too far away or on an outlying island. Thanks to Chris Potter who had seen Flapper the previous evening and had tried to catch him. It’s not easy with a scared dog that doesn’t know you. Anyway, Flapper was very happy to get back to his best friend, Jennifer, and she was equally happy to see him.

Phoebe

Phoebe, a collie/terrier cross

Having missed the Monday visit to AFCD, I made the post-weekend trip today. There was a dog I’d seen there last week, a gorgeous, large, scruffy type, but her (as I found out) back was always turned away and I couldn’t get an idea of how friendly she was. I had checked with the AFCD staff and they said she was always like that, but as Mark was with me today I asked him what he thought. I try not to judge dogs solely on the way they look, but realistically the cute ones are the easiest to home and this dog certainly ticked that particular box. It turned out, Phoebe, as she now is, was as sweet as she was pretty. I guess she was just totally bewildered and in shock at having been abandoned, because from her condition it was clear she wasn’t a stray or a construction site dog.

Porky

Pom + Yorkie = Porky, a very hairy duster

While Mark was carrying Phoebe out (she wouldn’t walk), I was told that a small dog that I hadn’t previously seen was available for re-homing. He was being kept in another kennel block, and turned out to be a funny cross between (my guess) a pom and a Yorkshire terrier. Pom and Yorkie = Porky, his new name. He’s very cute, and reasonably young at five years, so I don’t expect him to stick around too long.
There was great news about little Yorkie, Lilibet (who’d had emergency surgery for an infected uterus), when she was adopted by a family who had previously take a tiny terrier from HKDR. He’s still around and now has a friend. I hope Lilibet lives a long and happy life.
I seem to have a problem posting replies to comments on the blog, so after a couple of questions about the 12 year old mongrel that was taken to AFCD, sadly it was too late when I went to take him out. The best I can say is that he didn’t have to stay there too long. Regarding the dog that lives behind the washing machine, that’s Tokyo Joe and his bed (and TJ himself) is still there.
I’d taken Benji back to the kennels after having had him on Lamma during the office/volunteer room switch, and while he was happy to be back with his friends Cosmo and Luca, he was definitely most unhappy to find that the mini sheltie, Chiclet, had been moved into the office. After a few too many fights and scuffles, I decided it was best that Benji go back to Lamma, especially as he has a home to go to on Sunday so doesn’t need to be available for interviews. Porky will take his place in the office.

Arriving back home there was the usual over-the-top greeting from all the dogs, including Sandy who had obviously got over whatever it was that had been troubling her earlier. I went through the usual routine of quickly checking my emails before making myself something to eat, knowing that upstairs no doubt the usual suspects were up to some sort of mischief. Sure enough, when I went back upstairs the evidence was right there, but this time both groups had excelled themselves.

On the top floor Minky and Sparkle had torn apart the warm jacket I’d been wearing that day, while in the bedroom Murphy and his accomplice had stolen a box of toothpicks from somewhere and had scattered them all over my bed. I wasn’t concerned about the actual toothpicks, more the danger of one of the dogs having swallowed one. I can only wait and see.

 

The countdown to Peak to Fong continues. I make it 25 days to go ………

 

PS: Thanks to a great plug in the Standard by columnist Georgina Noyce, readership of yesterday’s blog was an amazing 1566!  Click here to read the column.

2 Responses to “Tuesday 3rd November: Sandy’s off day”

  1. Doris Chan Says:

    I immediately read Georgina’s column. How true! Somehow I also picture a Mother Teresa for the dogs.

  2. Marie Says:

    great review of HKDR blog-brill!! I love reading the HKDR blog too. Thank you !x

Leave a Reply

