Friday 25th September: Tough decision

I went to AFCD today to try once more to take out the chow cross that I had had to give up on last week. He was very excited to see me, and whirled around in his kennel, bowing and wagging his tail furiously. I had asked the staff if he could be microchipped on site rather than be taken to the front office, as the problem last time was that he got so scared he wouldn’t let anyone near him with the syringe. I looped the leash round the dog’s neck with some difficulty as he was bouncing around so much, and he was happy to get out of the small kennel space and into the corridor. So far so good, but the moment of truth came when the AFCD guy approached, syringe in hand. The dog took one look, leapt up and grabbed the man’s arm in his mouth. I have to admit I was quite unprepared for this, as the dog was so friendly and all the AFCD staff loved him. Luckily what at first appeared to be an attack was only the dog holding the arm in his mouth, and it left only indents in the skin and no actual wound, but it sealed the dog’s fate. Instead of him I took the black and tan mongrel in the next kennel, as he had also been waiting a long time.

My first Hong Kong dog, Bruno, was also a chow cross. I had just moved to Lamma, and was told by a friend of mine that a lovely dog had been dumped on “Dog Island”, and would I take care of it until she found it a home. So Bruno arrived, and never left, of course. He taught me a lot about dogs and everything I know about chow chows and chow crosses. He was not only very beautiful, he was extremely intelligent, stubborn, bloody-minded, and very loving. Actually he was a terror. He did what he wanted, when he wanted, and I loved him. By the time he died, several other dogs had joined the family, but Bruno was the big character. He’d happily pick fights with other dogs, and in the end was killed by a pack who came into the garden and ripped him to shreds. It was terrible, but even then I could see the justice in it.

I could also see Bruno in the dog at AFCD and knew exactly what his temperament would be. While he would make a fantastic and loyal family dog, the in-between period of having him at kennels would be impossible, but even now as I write this I keep wondering if his life could, or should, be saved.

Along with Andy, the black-and-tan boy that I took instead, I also took out an old Yorkshire terrier girl that I had seen being surrendered the previous day. Lilibet, as she now is, is 11 years old and in quite good health for her age, although he coat is thin and wispy. All she wants is a warm home and someone’s love.

The pom with the rabbit hop (unusable back legs) was exchanged for a lovely bulldog cross and a 1-year old golden retriever boy. Both of these dogs had ended up homeless at Dr Joe’s Lantau clinic, and while he was taking the pom to fix the legs, I said I had possible homes for the other two. Both of them will be seen by potential adopters on Saturday.

I will also be at kennels early tomorrow as I have to take Biggles, the French bulldog puppy, over for an adoption interview, and then I will be putting on my sales girl hat and spending the afternoon at Lane Crawford. Not shopping, of course, but helping to man our HKDR display, which is expected to be very busy at peak times. If you want to drop by and say hello, I plan to be there from around 1pm to 5pm, depending on how busy things are.

While I’m doing my stint at Lane Crawford tomorrow, Mark (and his wife, Linda) will be standing in for me at the M1NT event tonight (because nobody tried to bribe me to go!). I fully expect to be fast aleep even before the guest DJ arrives to start the party.

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Friday 25th September: Tough decision”

  1. ken Says:

    True kindness is only shown when one keeps doing it- just as I can see from Sally’s work and care for the dogs. Hope you have a wonderful sale day at Lane Crawford, Sally.

Leave a Reply

