Friday 18th September: Cindy gets a beating

The new computer is up and running but there are still minor wrinkles to be ironed out,  so this entry is late again (getting to be a habit).

With the recent influx of dogs I absolutely didn’t need or want to bring any more in, but there is a dog that has been waiting at AFCD for a long time and I have been getting heavy hints from the staff about taking it out.  He’s a medium/large sized mongrel, a chow cross, and very friendly.  He’s clearly been around people and is always happy to see me, but when I got him out of his kennel to finally take him out he was very scared and stressed.  The fat needle which inserts the microchip under the skin was the final straw, and he flipped. 

My standard procedure when this happens is to walk the dog away and to spend some time calming it down, patting and soothing, and talking quietly.  Although this boy responded well, even to the point of leaning against my legs and licking me, there was no way he was letting anyone near him with a needle again.  By this time I was sweating, the dog was panting heavily and everyone was getting very bored,  and a final attempt to get the chip in resulted in the dog pulling out of his collar and running. Not far, obviously, but it was time to give up, at least for today.

In the end I left with five baby puppies who didn’t put up any fight when I picked them up and carried them out.  Welcome Olive, Joshua, Margo, Linus and Sylvia.

The gate at the bottom of the stairs which was intended to keep the puppies from invading my (supposed to be) sanctuary works quite well, but as I mentioned it also stops those with legitimate passes from being able to go up and down freely.  Poor Cindy paid the price, and when I got back from kennels in the evening she was sporting the dog equivalent of a black eye and a cauliflower ear.  She had been well and truly duffed up.

Early days - Cindy as a doglet

Early days - Cindy as a doglet

Cindy is a strange dog, one of the very first puppies ever to come back to Lamma from AFCD back in 2003.  She was timid then and she’s still timid now.  I’m the only person who can touch her, and even then she cringes as though she’s been beaten on a regular basis.  I know she trusts me, but it’s still a very guarded trust, and she prefers to sit quietly on her bed upstairs and to be left alone.  Because she’s not usually downstairs with the rest of the dogs she must have been singled out.

My dog rescuing career started when I moved to Lamma in 1986, to a bay where there is an island which ended up being known as Dog Island.  It was, and is, a dumping ground for unwanted dogs and puppies,  all from fishing boats and fish farms.  My first dog, Bruno, came from there, and then Pippa, Midge, Goldie and Katie.  Inky was born there and taken off as a puppy, and there have been many dogs that have lived and died on that island.  I still take off those that I can catch (such as current kennel residents, Missy and Misto), and those that I can’t are fed.  Luckily there is a natural water supply or the task would be impossible.

Now there are some new puppies on the island, and I can hear their howls from my house.  It looks like another rescue mission is about to take place.

Leave a Reply

