Wednesday 2nd September: Remembering Zilla

I’m devastated with news today about another death.  Zilla, our wonderful, funny, lovely cock-eyed girl was poisoned by burglars a few months ago but I‘ve only just heard.  I can’t believe how often dogs die after adoption. Is it just Hong Kong, or is this normal?  Poison is really a new thing to me, or should I say I had never heard of it until getting into dog rescuing.

Zilla, a beauiful girl

Zilla, a beautiful girl

Zilla came to us along with her assumed father, Dozer.  She was a silly and playful young girl, with a squashed face that was funny-cute.  She should have been adopted long before she was, just because she was so lovely.  She was one of the faces that was featured on the run of Bossini T-shirts, and we all adored her.

Then there is Alfie, a lovely labrador simply dumped at our kennels by his adopters late in the evening and without warning.  I was so angry, and still am, that people (and in this case expats again) think they can adopt a dog, and then just bring it back when no longer wanted.  There seems to be an idea that adopting a dog means keeping for a few months and then simply bringing it back.  As I told this selfish and rude couple, the dog is legally theirs, licensed and registered in their name, and will remain so until they have the manners to ask if we can help re-home him. Grrrrrrrr!

As expected, the four puppies left outside the kennels on Tuesday weren’t the complete litter and today there was another one, a very cute boy with a whiskery face.  I’ll call him Scout.

I wasn’t at kennels until late afternoon today as I had a string of meetings in Central to go to.  I stopped by the Hopewell Centre (where HKDR has a table for two days) on the way in to drop off some doggie “slippers” for Hero, the Jack Russell, as he is trying to scratch the still-open wound on his shoulder. The soft bootees are the best thing I can think of that will at least cover his claws so it will mean rubbing rather than scratching.  I found a whole pile of these slippers in the boxes of dog clothes that were donated, and I was going to throw them out until I realised that they would be useful for any dogs that scratch.  Watch this space to see how successful they are (that means how long they stay on Hero’s feet).

Back home in the evening, I was watching the news on the television while preparing something to eat, and I saw the story about two rottweilers that had attacked their owner and maid.  What was sad and sickening was seeing how these dogs were kept, chained outside, presumably how they lived 24 hours a day.  Rottweilers have a bad reputation because they are kept as guard dogs, and often in these conditions.  Any dog that is chained to a wall for its entire life can be expected to go crazy, just as these poor dogs did.  If someone chained me to a wall and left me there day in and day out, I would attack given the opportunity.  No doubt the dogs will be destroyed for being dangerous, and it will add to the rottweiler’s already scary reputation.  As a breed, these dogs are actually very even-tempered and gentle, but like any animal that is mistreated,  they will eventually crack and fight back.

11 Responses to “Wednesday 2nd September: Remembering Zilla”

  1. Vivian Chan Says:

    Poor Zilla. R.I.P. Sick people, sick people out there! Hope the police can catch the burglars and charge them for burglary and murder.

    It is Hong Kong Dog Rescue not Hong Kong Dog Library or Movie rental. If expats can’t keep a dog for life, they can help to foster while they stay in HK.

    Good thinking about the slippers. Get well soon, Hero.

  2. Angela Wong Says:

    The worse part is, the two rottweilers are 8 years old and 11 years old respectively, and the female one (8 year old) has just give birth to a litter of 3 puppies! Why on earth people not have their dogs desexed? I am sure that this wasn’t the first litter. I believe the dogs bit was because they were trying to protect the puppies from the stranger (as there were strangers entering the premises to fix the owner’s car). I feel so sorry for the two rottweilers.

  3. Cate Says:

    This is such a sad tale. We too hear so many bad things and are trying to help in our own way. We have two little rescue cats who had both suffered, and it has taken almost 3 years for them to feel safe. Continue with the good work. Your products are amazing and website absolutely beautiful…goodluck.

  4. Foster Wong Says:

    According to the latest 2009 statistics in the US, Rottweilers, generally speaking, have better temperament and more stable than other “harmless breeds” like Shih Tzu.

    Gene aside, I agree with you that it’s how you treat and train that matter most. Hope the two poor dogs will be released after 7 days, newspapers reported they have 3 little pups

  5. Kat Says:

    I saw Alfie outside the kennels this morning and have to reign in the urge to seek out his idiotic owners and smack them repeatedly.

  6. Heyli Says:

    Sick owners, pls respect yr pet, not a toy

  7. Sandy Says:

    If only the owners of Alfie had the decency to offer some sort of payment to help HKDR feed, provide ongoing vet care and general upkeep of alfie insted of making him SOMEONE ELSES RESPONSIBILITY.

    I hope when times get tough for them that their children don’t do the same to them and tie them up outside a retirement village or nursing home with no food, shelter and money for ongoing medical care…

    SHAME SHAME SHAME……but what goes around comes around to bite them back on the bum

  8. Jacqui Lade Says:

    Its such a sad ending for such a lovely dog. My heart breaks… but its somthing that needs to be heard, so people understand what can happen to these beautiful friends we call dogs.
    Honestly, if I could accomodate many dogs accordingly I would end up with at least 10 of them! Unfortunately, I have to be realistic and take only those that I know I can give a good life to – forever!
    My husband and I have adopted two dogs from the rescue, and they have turned out to be the BEST dogs we have ever had. We are often asked the question… what happens if you go back to Australia? We tell them simply, the boys come too… what else would we do???? I cant imagine life without them.
    As I have learnt in HK, with 5 heartbreaking stories, we get 2 or if lucky 3 awsome ones. If I knew what to do to make things better, I would quit my job and do it. All I can do is talk to people and try to educate them. If anyone has a better idea, tell me!

  9. Norma M Says:

    I am so saddened by the news of Zilla’s death. Hope she did not suffer.

  10. Mel B Says:

    Our boy boris was poisoned from our neighbour a few years ago in happy valley. She just came upstairs while we were out and put rat poison under our door. Luckily at the time our boy had the constitution of an ox…..and the police did nothing. We moved and now have lovely neighbours who take our dogs inside their apartment for hours at a time and love them to bits – and the boys adore them. They are especially sweet to my foster puppys. Disgusting people are everywhere, but i have to say so are the nice ones…..

    • Sally Says:

      Yes, you’re right, we have so many fantastic volunteers, fosters, adopters and supporters. It just seems the bad ones are so stunningly bad, it stops you in your tracks for a while.

Leave a Reply

