Tuesday 25th August: In praise of the little guys

As I’m sitting upstairs at my computer I can hear Murphy barking away on the floor below.  Now that he has become an expert stair climber he’s almost always in my bedroom, but he doesn’t usually bark so I know something’s up.  I go down to find two doves crashing around the place, feathers flying and Murphy on the bed, with Minky hiding underneath it.  The doves come to eat the dog kibble on the balcony so they’re regular visitors, but this morning they have ventured inside because all the puppies are now moved to the garden during the day.  However, being birds and not too bright in the thinking department, they can’t figure out how to get back under the blind, the way that they came in.  Getting them out is simply a case of pulling the blind up so they have a full escape route, but Murphy is breathless with excitement for some time afterwards and stays on the balcony barking at nothing.

I have to go to AFCD today as I missed yesterday’s visit, and leave with a rottweiler and a Pekingese, both girls.  Needless to say, the rottie is a very sweet and gentle dog, while little Miss Daisy (as I call her) is in no frame of mind to let the vet take blood for the standard heartworm test.  We decide to leave it until she’s desexed and under anaesthetic.

What I love about pekes is their absolute determination to do what they want to do, and how they want to do it. Until I started this work I had never had anything to do with pekes, pugs or shih tzus, or any of the small breeds other than terrier types.  In my mind they weren’t even “real” dogs, and I couldn’t understand why anyone would want one.  I have since found out that they are great characters with huge personalities, and I have grown to love the peke and pug’s funny squashed faces and their huffing and puffing.  I’ve rarely met a peke that doesn’t love to go for a walk even if they can’t be out for long in the heat, and pugs just love to play.  Both the shih tzu and peke can be evil little buggers if they want to be, but you have to imagine what it’s like to be a midget in a big world and you can see their point of view.  Get on the right side of these little guys (and gals) and you’ll understand why so many people love them.

Duck-Duck, the caged puppy, also arrives and thankfully he’s not as bad as I was led to believe.  He’s happy to be out of a cage and running around, and as he’s a very pretty puppy I think he might not have to wait too long for a home.  I think a change of name might help, although Duck-Duck is funny and quite cute.

 Talking of names, it’s getting to be harder and harder to come up with something original.  Arriving at the vet clinic with a clutch of puppies and being asked their names requires some quick thinking.  I try to remember names that I’ve seen or heard that seemed like good names for dogs, but they almost always escape me when I need them. In earlier days I never used a name twice, but that’s long since fallen by the wayside as we’re up to triple usage now.  Suggestions are welcome.

To help us save more dogs’ lives, click here to make a donation.


16 Responses to “Tuesday 25th August: In praise of the little guys”

  1. Rachael Says:

    I’m with you for the small dogs, growing up with a german shepherd, I was the same, thinking small dogs were just yappy, annoying little things. So thought I’d be able to foster a shih tzu and hand back, but within days of course the case was lost and Daisy would stay forever. It’s just the silly people that have small dogs and treat them like babies that’s the problem. Daisy has walked the Hong Kong trail, climbed mountains and is still the one that wants to play when we get back, whilst Gypsy is flat on her back saying forget it…….I’m a complete convert….huge, funny personalities in pint sized bodies that constantly make you smile.

  2. Denvy Says:

    Hm, what about a food theme?

    Burger
    Noodles
    Ramen
    Pizza
    Cola
    Char Siew
    Dim Sum
    Siew Mai
    Har Gau

    Or a Harry Potter theme:
    Quidditch
    Hufflepuff
    Ravenclaw
    Nimbus
    Malfoy
    Weasley
    Muggle
    Hogsmeade
    Hedwig

    • Sally Says:

      Thanks Denvy. The problem is remembering them if they’re a bit unusual. We tried Japanese names when Marie was around and she was the only one who could remember who was who and what their name was! Burger, Pizza, Cola, DimSum, Noodle have all been used at least twice. We’ve had harry, Potter and Muggle, butnot sure a dog would be happy being called Weasley!

      • Denvy Says:

        haha! Weasley will indeed be an unfortunate name for a dog..

        Ahh ok. I’m going to throw in more English names then-

        Fern, Thunder, River, Coconut, Matchbox, Soda, Citrus, Squid, Scrabble, Twilight, Matrix, Pollock, Truckle, Pesto, Crayon, Guitar, Oakley, Jukebox, Ocean, Sudoku …

      • Sally Says:

        Yep, some goodies here, thanks!

  3. Madelaine Gomez Says:

    I feel exactly the same as Rachel did (yappy annoying little things) and many a times they want to bite your finger off. That’s why I seldom take the small dogs out at the kennels, although of course whenever I’m at the kennels, all the dogs in the volunteer room expect me to take them out when they see me, so I’ve really got my hands full. But I shall try and do so in future.

  4. Norma M Says:

    I love all dogs big and small but agree the little ones have such personalities. Having always owned mainly dachshunds in the past I understand the breed pretty well. Many a day the doves would wonder into my parly enclosed patio but would not make it out alive with my little guys there. Real hunters!! Never forget the day I arrived home to a pile of feathers from a very large grouse that had wondered in and could not get out. I ventured into the garden to find the poor bird only to find my one dog had burried it and only the bright red legs were protruding from the herb garden. This bird is the size of a large chicken and my dog not much bigger! Poor thing but that I suppose is nature. Murphy and Minky were very good not to try and catch them.

  5. eu Says:

    some shorter latin plant names for dogs FYR. not common words, but easy and catchy to pronounce.

    Ariza, Ceiba, Regia, Crista, Galli, Bixa, Rosea, Melia, Ferrea, Altilis, Mitis, Alatus, Hopea, Musa, Asper, Ixora, Yucca

  6. Angela Wong Says:

    I just LOVE peke and shih tzu. Yes, they can be real nasty and can bite your finger off, that said, they are great characters with huge personalities. Unfortunately a lot of people think that these type of dogs do not need exercise and think that they should have enough space in a apartment to run around. My dogs are walked 4 times a day and Snoop also loves hiking. Grover is the one who LOVES to go out most even he can’t see.

  7. Maxwell Says:

    I have no feeling to small dog before, all I know about them are bark with no meaning, and bites when you not focus on them……. after these days in office, all those in and out small dogs, they totally change my impression to “small dogs”; they small in size only…. but soul are big… Gavin with dignity, Dorothy’s vital principle, Yorky as Mark best friend :p, Cosmo’s music chair, Exel the big bunker, Luca the gentleman…….. all of them showing me how beautiful they are….. Every evening, when you go back to office with tired step, little Luca come to you for cuddle by his innocent eyes.. Bugsy walking slowly to you, and you know he just wants your pat before he go back to sleep on his little red bed…… 3 days in real world….. I have start missing them 🙂
    Thanks HKDR!!!!

  8. Diana Says:

    How about following the naming system of the HK police dogs? Have a list of names for each of the 26 alphabets. When you finish with the names starting with A, then you use the names starting with B.

  9. DL Says:

    I heard of someone calling dogs by chocolate brands – e.g. an entire litter named after different chocolate brands or names such as ‘hershey’, ‘nestle’, ‘cadbury’, ‘kitkat’, ‘lotte’, ‘mars’, ‘lindt’, ‘spruengli’, ‘meiji’. perhaps you could just name each litter by a key word, so it’s easier to identify dogs by litter and hence, remember the names too. not quite unlike your breakfast club!

  10. Abby and Lou Says:

    We’ve had big and small dogs. I used to take my Maltese (Shiro, white in Japanese….very original) running in the university trails. He LOVED it. I just don’t understand people carrying them around in bags or wheel them around in parks and not let them walk. Shiro was white and yeah he got dirty but then you just wipe him clean. He’s not a toy! I do miss the portability of a small dog, especially in a city like HK.

    What about places? Ireland, China, Tahiti, Siberia, Venice

    Or trees – Willow (like yours), Rowan, Pine (can be Pinenut), Cedar, Dogwood, Apple (already one), Ash, Birch, Olive, Linden, Elm

    Or composers – mozart, beethoven, amadeus, strauss, gershwin

    Or gods and goddesses (may offend some) – Diana, Hera, Athena, Anu,

  11. Jesslyn Says:

    How about using the volunteers’ names? I would love to have a dog named after me =]

  12. max Says:

    How about flower names for our lovely lady puppies? daisy, rose…

    • Sally Says:

      The flowers have been used again and again. We currently have a Daisy, Tulip, Daffodil and Petunia, but have had many Roses and a Lilic, Violet etc

Leave a Reply

