Friday 24th July: Dogs and breeders

It’s another day away from the kennels for me as I’m out and about looking at potential kennel sites again.  I’m getting to know parts of Hong Kong that I’d never visited before in these field trips, so it’s always a bit of an adventure. 

 We’re making preparations for the arrival of the ten dogs from the breeder tomorrow, and an email has been sent to all the people who offered emergency fosters after the typhoon last week.  If we can at least get the dogs into temporary homes, we won’t have the problem of where to put them.  At least they’re almost all small breeds.

 The story with these breeder dogs is more complicated than just a straightforward dumping, and from what I can gather there are actually a lot of corgis (the “must have” breed of the moment) in limbo somewhere.  My “ear to the ground” also tells me that there is a lot of discontent in the dog breeding community at the moment, with the proposed new licensing regulations due to come into force in the last quarter of this year.  Both the “hobby” breeders and the commercial breeders are unhappy, but for different reasons.  The new regulations will restrict the hobby breeders to having two entire (not desexed) bitches, so those who currently have more will either have to get rid of the extra dogs, or have them desexed. (As I’m writing this I have the sudden realisation that this could mean a lot of dogs being suddenly dumped if the home breeders actually comply with the new regulations, which is by no means guaranteed).  The commercial breeders are upset because they don’t see why they should need to be licensed while the hobby breeders won’t be required to do so.

 From the animal welfare point of view, ideally there wouldn’t be any breeding at all, but that’s an unrealistic dream.  So instead I would like to see not only licensed breeders with minimum care and conditions required, but also regulated numbers of puppies born. There are already far too many dogs in Hong Kong, and it’s madness to allow unlimited breeding and importing of puppies when there are so many waiting for homes at the various organisations.  The story of Icecream, the pug, is a perfect example of a typical situation, with many dogs and puppies being handed around from home to home.  There are so many local websites offering unwanted pets, or selling puppies that have been bred at home.

 I understand that business is slow now for the breeders, and while this is good news in one way, it also results in the dumping that we’re seeing with the corgis and others.  I really hope that one day there will be sensible restrictions imposed, and other laws to control the numbers of dogs being born, and thereby the number of unwanted dogs being killed every year.  You have to be in this “business” to really understand the severity of the problem, and the out-of-control cycle of breeding-buying-dumping-killing.  The calls come in all day and every day, starting with “I have a dog …….”  and I know what’s coming next.  And these are the calls that I get, but there are many others also getting the same calls, or those owners who never make any calls at all, but simply abandon their pet on the street or in a country park somewhere.  What I would like to do to the people who dump their dogs like this is unprintable, and it honestly scares me to know that there are so many people who are callous and heartless enough to be able to leave their dog to starve and die in the middle of nowhere.  What goes on in the minds of people like this?  I dread to think.

To help us save more dogs’ lives, click here to make a donation.

3 Responses to “Friday 24th July: Dogs and breeders”

  1. Helen Says:

    Hi
    Love the new website, in particular the Blog, Would it be possible to actually put homed across the dog, as per the old website, when they are adopted? This was a great feature and easy to follow.? Just a suggestion.

    • Sally Says:

      Hi Helen,

      I’m glad you enjoy my blog. I hope it helps to give some insight into HKDR and what goes on behind the scenes.
      Re the website, work is still ongoing as we’re getting feedback and making improvements, so thanks for your comment.

  2. Betty Says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Betty

    http://smallpet.info

Leave a Reply

