Saturday 11th July: The big sale

It’s a very early start today as I have to be at the Excelsior Hotel by 10am for setting up in preparation for the Bonanza Sale.  But wouldn’t you know it, there’s a typhoon signal up with warnings of a higher signal being raised by mid-morning.  I know I can get over to Hong Kong, but I’m worried about being able to get back if the wind strengthens.

 While I’m pondering this a group of volunteers, headed by our stars of the day Mel and Laura, are already at the warehouse  to get the boxes out and over to Causeway Bay.  They’re also having problems with getting access to the locked room, but finally everything’s sorted and I make the decision to risk going over.  I really don’t want to miss this event.

By the time I get to the hotel everything’s arrived and we just have time to price and sort before the first customers

Tables of goodies

Tables of goodies

appear.  From then on there’s a steady stream of buyers, and we quickly sell out of some items. The room is filled with the sound of squeaking, as every toy is tested.  I wonder what the neighbouring property exhibition made of the noise, a continuous chorus of squeak squeak squeak. 

Boxes of toys

Boxes of toys

While the sale’s in full swing, I get a call from someone who wants to surrender a 3-month collie puppy because it’s ‘bothering’ their child.  In fact, so keen is the caller to dispose of the puppy that he goes straight to the kennels to dump it.  I hope the volunteers gave the idiot owner a good kick up the backside as he left.  Luckily the vet is still around at SPCA over the road so the puppy can at least have its second vaccination.  If there’s ever an example of complete stupidity and thoughtless, selfish behaviour, it’s someone like this who buys a puppy for their child (because no doubt he or she say he wants one), then a week or so later simply throws it away because it’s annoying the kid.  Grrrrrr!

 I ask one of our Chinese volunteers to call my regular sampan driver to ask about the weather situation.  At the moment it’s OK, but they can’t say when it might change.  I don’t want to leave, but I know I have to be able to get back to Lamma.  When I’m told the Cheung Chau ferry service has stopped, I know it’s time for me to go.

 It feels strange being back home so early in the afternoon, but I busy myself making everything secure in case the wind gets really strong. Most of all, I have to make sure the newly built shelter doesn’t blow away.  It’s not a big typhoon, but I’m very exposed being right on the seafront and even when there’s barely a breeze in built-up areas like Causeway Bay, it can be very different where I am.  The dogs are enjoying having me around, and there’s the usual shoving and pushing as they all try to be closest to me as I make my way round the plants and bushes, cutting them back so they don’t get bent and broken by the wind.

 I can’t wait to hear from Mel what the final total was for today’s sale and have to call.  A quick tally shows around $30,000 clear, a fantastic result for the day.  I hope we can do it again as we still have a lot of stock in the warehouse, but we have the Pet Expo coming up at the end of the month so that’s the next event to work on.

 It’s been a good day in one way but with no adoptions at the kennels again, and yet another new puppy to fit in, there’s a constant, underlying worry.  Sitting here at my computer I look round the room that was once my sanctuary from the dogs, and wonder how long it will be before I can reclaim my space from Minky and Sparkle.  All chairs and tables have been stacked up to try to save them from being chewed, the sofas haven’t got an inch of space left for me to sit on as they are piled with anything that could be at risk of attack, and whatever remains at ground level (like my desk and the chair that I’m sitting on) is slowly being eaten away.  Every day the two terrorists are carried down to the ground floor, and every day they make their way back upstairs to the place the consider to be their home.  They’re not naughty or bad puppies, in fact they’re lovely and very sweet, but their self-imposed confinement has left them with nothing to do but eat their way through everything they can get their teeth into.  They should be running and playing in the garden, but my top floor has become their sanctuary rather than mine.

To help us save more dogs’ lives, click here to make a donation.

Leave a Reply

