Thursday 25th June: One old life, nine new

Work has already seriously started on this year’s Peak to Fong fundraising event, and I’m trying to get the raffle prizes

Peak to Post 2007

Peak to Post 2007

confirmed.  This year is going to be a big one as we have the support of the Lan Kwai Fong Association meaning the whole street will be involved.  There’s all sorts of license applications to be completed (thankfully not one of my tasks) to avoid any problem with the police, and to ensure the smooth running of the event. Peak to Fong, formerly Peak to Post, is now an HKDR tradition, and we have to get it right.

 Minky, Docker and Taco have been sent to SPCA for desexing so I have some respite from Minky and Sparkle’s madness while I work from home.  The other upstairs pups are growing too fast and I’m trying to decide whether moving them into a garden enclosure will work.  My concern is the weather.  Like many pups that are born outside, most of them had a bit of ringworm when they first arrived. This almost always clears up without treatment once good food and care are given, and  I don’t want the fungal infection to come back with the heat and humidity, blowing the chances of a home.  Rain is also forecast (again) so maybe I’ll wait a bit.

 Thursday means it’s an AFCD day, and with my usual heavy heart I go to check the new intake.  Oh no, there’s a small sized mongrel with nine very young puppies!  What to do? The mother is lovely, so sweet, and she presses her nose against my hand, wagging her tail as she does so.  About the size of a cocker spaniel, I know she has a good chance of finding a home, but nine puppies?  Where to put them where they will be safe from infection?  Thinking, thinking.  I say I’ll take her (and pups), so at least they have a place for a few days while I try to figure something out.

 An old shih tzu is cleared for release.  He is microchipped but the owner, when traced, doesn’t want the dog.  No wonder, he’s 14 years old, and when I go to take him out he falls over, unable to even walk.  Rather than leave the poor boy there I say I’ll have him put to sleep myself, even though this is his fate anyway.  I want him at least to have someone to hold him while it’s done. I’m grateful when he quickly slips away, as he had been crying in pain while we waited for our turn.

6-mth poodle/schauzer

6-mth poodle/schauzer

Today’s surrender requests: one young poodle, one 6-month poodle cross.  Check out the haircut.  That’s sad, really sad.

The tide is very, very low when I get back to Lamma with the three doglets in their crates.  The sampan will have trouble even getting to the floating pontoon.  I call ahead and a helper is standing by with my dinghy, normally used to get over to “Dog Island”, the place that started my dog rescue ‘career’ and launched HKDR.  As the sampan pulls into the bay, the dinghy comes out to meet us and the doglets in their crates are manhandled over the side and into the little rowing boat.  As it pulls away, I can see Minky’s very worried face peering through the crate door and wish I had a camera with me.  The sight of  three crates piled onto a small boat, wobbling precariously, is classic.

I have a television downstairs which I switch on for the dogs in the evening.  That may seem funny but it’s so they get used to the sound of other voices and noises.  Where I live is quite isolated, and all the dogs normally hear are the birds and cicadas, with the occasional fishing boat engine. This evening I make a point of staying downstairs to watch a programme about dogs, and the sound of the barking on the television gets my own dogs running into the garden to see where the intruders are.  I have trouble hearing what’s being said, as thoughout the whole programme the dogs are on edge and barking, unable to find the strangers but convinced they’re out there somewhere.

 I rarely watch television, not just because there are few programmes that interest me, but because as soon as I sit down (on one of the dog beds) I’m completely overwhelmed by dogs.  They’re so happy that I’m actually joining them that they’re all clamouring to sit next to me, pushing and shoving each other out of the way.  Bali and Ottilie are the most insistent, determined that I’ll notice them and pet them, and they never give up.  Many times it’s me that gives up, and I move to the top of the fridge where I can perch in peace, out of reach of paws, claws and tongues.  I bet they won’t be showing that on the TV.

To help us save more dogs’ lives, click here to make a donation.

5 Responses to “Thursday 25th June: One old life, nine new”

  1. Helen Says:

    I would imagine that a poodle /Schnauzer cross would make a very hyper dog wouldn’t it?

    • Sally Says:

      Probably no more than a poodle or a schnauzer individually. I’m told she’s a very sweet dog, but left alone for too long.

  2. Vivian Chan Says:

    hi, sally. were you trying to watch “Dog that Changed the World”? it is on youtube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0DQm3sVgVc
    you may want to watch with headphones this time.

  3. Vivian Chan Says:

    or this is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=87cB49JnYiY

  4. Pei Says:

    God that really *is* a tragic haircut…and to be abandoned so young. Poor little thing.

Leave a Reply

