Tuesday 23rd June: Pups’ reprieve

Every year around this time comes the unwelcome return of the Large Woodland spiders, along with their incredibly strong and sticky webs.  I don’t know about ‘large’ – some of them are gigantic. Anyone who walks though woodland will know what I’m talking about, and the morning walks turn into a game of “Spot the Web Before It Gets You”.  Miss them and you end up with a cobweb face mask and, if you hit the jackpot, an enormous spider stuck in the middle of it.  If you can look at them objectively these black and yellow spiders are quite stunning, but they can turn a lovely walk through the woods into a nightmare.

 Back from the walk I notice that one of the doglets, Misha, has a large gash on her shoulder.  Presumably it’s the result of a snap from another dog which has slit the skin open, and I think the wound needs stitching.  Misha joins me on my trip to the kennels and manages to vomit just as we arrive at the Aberdeen pier.  It’s the same sampan lady as the one who herself threw up a few Sundays ago, unable to stomach the seasickness of the puppies on their way to Whiskers’n’Paws.  I’ve been using another sampan since then to avoid a repeat of that day’s disaster, and I clean up the mess as thoroughly as I can.

 With Misha sedated and ready for being sewn up, I go to the AFCD kennels to collect the three baby pups that I saw there yesterday.  The remaining six from the group that were left under a lorry are also still there, but I had told the staff that I wouldn’t be taking them as they were too timid. The last thing I want or need is another litter of unhomeable pups.  By now these six puppies shouldn’t still be alive, but there they are and now they are wagging their tails.  I try to ignore them and walk up and down the rows of kennels looking for the three babies, but they aren’t there.  I can’t believe they have already been killed, although I can see from the many empty spaces that the morning had been one of “those” mornings.  I try to block my mind of the images and thoughts of what goes on when the time comes for the dogs to be destroyed.  People ask me about it and I always say I don’t know and I don’t want to know.  In the past I have seen more than I have wanted to see, and that was enough.

Not being able to find the three baby pups, I go back to the other six.  Apart from one they’re all brindles (striped like tigers) and I’m reminded of the time when our other brindles, Fluffy, Tiger Lily and Stripes, were young.  They were born unexpectedly to a dog that was taken out of AFCD and went straight to a foster home.  Not even the vet that checked her could tell that she was about to give birth, and it was only when the pups appeared a few days later that we found out.

 But that’s another story.  Now I’m faced with six new lives, their fate in my hands. I can’t walk away, so they’re crammed into the crate I have brought with me and they leave for the next stage of their lives.  I don’t know what the future holds, I only know that for now they are safe.  On the way out I’m told that one of the staff, the young guy who loves the dogs and is loved by them in return, has taken the baby pups home for fostering.  This isn’t the first time he’s done that, and I’ve seen him with kittens too. At some time the pups will come back and I’ll have to make the decision once again, but I know they’re being well cared for now.

Beautiful Flloyd

Beautiful Flloyd

 After dropping the pups at the vet for vaccination, I have arranged to go with Flloyd’s foster to SPCA in Wanchai to meet with the surgeon who performed the surgery on Flloyd to repair a slipping kneecap (formally known as a luxating patella).  Unfortunately things didn’t go as well as they should have, and Flloyd has already had two operations to try to fix the problem.  The decision now has to be made as to whether to go ahead with a third attempt, and we agree to wait another month when all the pins are due to be removed anyway.  Flloyd is lucky that he has a great foster home where he can stay for the next few months.  At kennels it would have been impossible to have kept him from being knocked and jostled by other dogs, and his life would have been miserable.  He’s a gorgeous dog, big but soft, and it’s a shame that his foster won’t be able to keep him permanently.

Meanwhile, there’s a discussion going on about getting some wheels ordered for Omega, the peke that was dumped outside our kennels with an inoperable spinal problem.  His foster carer, Amanda, tells us that he has some function in his back legs, but he’s not very mobile and gets frustrated with his inablity to move around as he would like to.   Fitting him with the dog equivalent of a wheelchair which will support his hind quarters and allow him to use his front legs to power the wheels, seems to be the best option.  Once they get used to the wheels, dogs can whizz around on them quite happily.  Sheila of LAP has a pomeranian-on-wheels, and she’s helping us with design options.  Omega is booked in for desexing tomorrow and he can be accurately measured so his wheels will be a good fit.  Maybe we’ll need to change his name to Ben Hur later.

To help us save more dogs’ lives, click here to make a donation.

One Response to “Tuesday 23rd June: Pups’ reprieve”

  1. may Says:

    LOL…ben hur, i like that

Leave a Reply

