Wednesday 17th June: Half a year passed

I realise I’ve been writing this blog for over a month now, and that we are almost at the longest day of the year, the Summer Solstice.  A month is a long time in a puppy’s life and I can hardly believe that baby Nero is just about due for his third and last vaccination.

At the moment he shares his life with a handful (hardly dare count them) of other puppies around the same age and size, and as I sit at my desk they are busy playing a couple of feet away. People spend hours watching nature programmes on television, but here I have my very own home entertainment.  I never tire of watching puppies and their antics and games.  Right now they are busy shredding a glossy magazine I have given them, a very cheap and easy “toy”.  Yay! Paper! 

 I have an appointment to meet someone at AFCD kennels, an individual who wants to take a dog for re-homing.  As members of the public aren’t allowed to do so, I have agreed to sign the dog out under HKDR’s name on the understanding that the dog has a home to go to and that it will be desexed.  Although organisations like HKDR, SPCA etc are well known, there are many individuals or small groups of animal lovers who do a lot of work in the background, unknown and unrecognized, the unsung heroes.  Ms Wong is a middle aged woman who, with her little English and my worse Cantonese, tells me that she also takes care of a lot of stray cats which she traps and has desexed.  Someone is poisoning them and she has reported the case to the police.  This is sadly not an uncommon occurrence.

 The dog Ms Wong wants to save is one that I had luckily asked to be reserved anyway, a pretty tan fluffy boy, very scared (of course) but not at all aggressive.  He resists as I take him out of his kennel, biting at the leash and sruggling, but we manage to get him into a large cage that Ms Wong has brought along, and he quickly stops.  He is easy to chip and rabies vaccinate as he is very submissive in his fear, but he is a nice dog that should do well.

As Ms Wong wheels the cage and dog out of the AFCD gates, I go back into the kennel block to take out a surrendered Pekingese.  The poor dog is drooling in terror, but he is happy to be picked up and carried out.  I can see he has a skin problem, and that is the reason for his surrender.  He is 8 years old, well groomed, already microchipped and desexed, and yet his owners have given him up because of a skin problem.  He is a very pretty Pekingese, and very loving.  He is desperate to be picked up when I get him back to the office, and I can tell he was loved and well cared for.  Poor boy, he has no idea what has happened or why he isn’t in his home.

The overcrowding in the office is getting critical. There is a small dog in every corner, under every desk and on every lower shelf.  The foster network gets to work, and by the afternoon at least one dog has been taken,  Coco, the lovely mini pin girl, a sweet and easy dog but already 12 years old, so not particularly easy to find a new home for.  We have promises of a foster for a couple of the other dogs, including funny Thimble and the adorable shih tzu girl, Rosanna.  Surely Girlie, the little pom who sits quietly under a desk, will be adopted before too long. We hope.

 I have also received an offer of a foster for the two baby pups that were my last minute additions yesterday.  This is a lovely home and I’m happy and grateful that the pups won’t have to stay at kennels where there is always a risk of infection.  They have had their first vaccination and been liberally sprayed with Frontline, so the fleas that infested them have all gone. 

Before leaving at the end of the day, I check on the puppies that recently moved from Lamma to kennels.  They are excited to see me, and I let them into the big field for a play. The new boys, Remy and Martin, are also happy and relaxed, and sweet Etta is still busily wagging her tail.  I’m so glad that she’s safe.  Now all we have to do is find her a home.

Footnote: Here’s a link to yesterday’s photo session by Fred Lam  http://vimeo.com/5205869

To help us save more dogs’ lives, click here to make a donation.

7 Responses to “Wednesday 17th June: Half a year passed”

  1. Helen Says:

    Sally, what happened to the schnauzer that was surrended because of the owner’s illness, has he been fostered?

    • Sally Says:

      We have so many schnauzers dotted arond the place, I’m not sure which one you mean. Gavin and Morley went to a foster home and I have Howie and Delia, two delinquents, on Lamma. Woody was returned to us recently and he is now the only schnauzer actually at kennels.

  2. Claire Y Says:

    Sally,
    I haven’t left a comment before but I must tell you that I have really enjoyed reading your daily no nonsense – warts and all blog over the past month.
    With all that goes on during your average day I am surprised (but glad) you find the time to write it.
    Along with all the (p)ups and downs it gives a real insight of the hard work involved with rescuing and re-homing our four legged friends.
    May you continue to write so all who read it can truly appreciate what goes on behind the scenes at HKDR.

  3. Angela Says:

    Hi Helen, the schnauzer that is 11 years old, surrendered due to owner’s sickness (cancer), went to foster home with Gavin. Morley, went to a different foster home though he and Gavin came as a pair.

    • Sally Says:

      Note: Angela is one of our behind-the-scenes hard working adoption team, and she knows better than I do which small dogs are where. Thanks Angela!

  4. May Says:

    oh Morley came with Gavin..didn’t know that, i’m fostering Morley now but his lack of interest in food is really not helping, still skin & bones…& he juz follows my helper like a shadow all day long…my own dogs can’t seem to see Morley (maybe he’s invisible to dogs eyes..) & vice versa…

    • Sally Says:

      Morley and Gavin were taken from AFCD kennels on the same day but they weren’t from the same home. Both had health issues and Gavin had to have an eye removed. Morley was very thin, and I’m sorry to hear that he is still that way. Tests didn’t show what the reason was, but I’m happy that he’s in a foster home with you and not at the kennels where life is hard for the small dogs. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

