Tuesday 9th June: A lost day

I have to rush through my morning routine as I’ve arranged to meet representatives from other Animal Welfare Organisations outside the Legco Building in Central for today’s discussion on the proposed pet shop and breeder reforms.  As I approach Aberdeen the heavens open, and I step off the sampan into a total deluge, my flimsy fold-up umbrella completely useless as a defense against the heavy rain.  Within seconds I’m drenched, my trousers soggy and sticking to my legs.  Nice.

 There’s a small crowd outside Legco and I know many of them of course, so it’s nice to catch up.  There are also more press  photographers than I had expected, and Bernie Lo from Bloomberg, an avid supporter of animal rights and welfare.  After some interviews it’s time to go inside to listen to the various sides and opinions.  The proceedings remind me of the TV talent shows, with a time limit and a buzzer sounding when the panel have heard enough.  Somehow the focus of the debate switches from dogs to cats, turtles and lizards, and the most impassioned speech of the afternoon is given by the representative of the Hong Kong Scottish Fold Sickness Concern Group.  Time’s up and everyone is left wondering what was achieved.

 Back to the kennels and it’s too late to collect any dogs from AFCD so I can reply to the build-up of emails that I didn’t have time to deal with in the morning.   There are a lot of comments in response to yesterday’s blog, and I’m happy to report that the remaining puppies seem to be doing well.  One puppy, Caroline, that I had taken to the vet last week when the pups first started to show signs of penumonia, is still on a drip and struggling.  She spent 4 days in an oxygen box and is on a cocktail of drugs, with no guarantee that she’ll pull through.  I won’t give up on her now, but in response to someone’s question about whether or not the puppies that were put to sleep could have been treated,  the answer lies with Caroline.  Realistically, it would be impossible to provide intensive and long-term treatment to every sick puppy with only a small chance of recovery, and as a charity with limited resources it would be an unsustainable financial drain.   Still, my thought at the time was not about money, but the release from suffering for the puppies.

 Because of the rain the office is a temporary home to four small dogs, all of whom want attention except for the new pomeranian who is still in shock and sits quietly on her bed.  Gavin, the one-eyed schnauzer, has changed from a sickly and pathetic specimen to a happy little dog, and now he also joins in with the others as they jump up and down.  It’s great to see the change in these dogs, and we’re all happy for Gavin and his progress.  Now we just need to find him a home.

It’s taken a long time but I finally get a new air conditioner over to Lamma and now just need to get it installed.  The dogs have had to tolerate the heat with nothing but fans to move the stifling air round, and I can’t blame them for not wanting to come in at night. There’s always a handful of doglets who scurry off into the bushes when I call the dogs in, and they know all the good places to hide.  The only time that I don’t have to go on a dog hunt before I can get to bed is when it’s raining, so there are times when I really appreciate the bad weather.  Hopefully the dogs will enjoy the air conditioning as much as I’ll enjoy not having to stumble round the garden in the dark every evening.

To help us save more dogs’ lives, click here to make a donation.

Leave a Reply

