Saturday 6th June: Homework

Saturdays are a good day for me as our strong team at the kennels means that there is no need for me to go in.  This gives me time to attend to the Lamma dogs, and today is Heartgard day, the monthly heartworm prevention that all the dogs have to have.  It’s not an easy task when there are so many, especially now the doglets are old enough to need it too.  I have a list of all the names and start with the difficult dogs, those who refuse to eat the “tasty” chew.  I break the cube into little pieces and hide it in a ball of canned food.  Then the doglets, and it’s becoming more and more difficult to distinguish the black ones from each other.  I’d put identification collars on with their names written in black, but they have long since been chewed off.  Finally the older dogs get their “treat” and it’s done.

Bali

Bali

 Next job is to shave the long-haired dogs, at least those that have the type of coat that gets knotted and collects debris.  Bali is part schnauzer, and has that fine, soft hair that grows like a weed and needs a lot of attention. Luckily he enjoys being shaved and  stands still while I run the clippers over his body.  He has been with me for a few years. one of the early dogs from AFCD.  He was very scared and defensive when I first met him and I have to admit it was only his very appealing looks that saved him from being passed by.  He was 8 months old at that point, and I was told he’d been surrendered by his owners  who had kept him tied up on a balcony and got fed up with his barking, so I called him Bali, short for Balcony Boy.  At home he showed the schnauzer side of his makeup, being very clingy and loving, and he had (still has) that way of gazing into my eyes with such a look of love that I couldn’t say no to his demands for affection.  It wasn’t long before a family also fell for his looks and charm and he was adopted, but he was returned before too long due to his habit of bullying the maid.  The family consulted a certain vet (who shall remain nameless but who has a huge black mark against her name for this and a few other similar cases) who told them Bali was a dangerous dog and should be put to sleep.  Of course, I insisted that he come back to me, and he remains the most loving and affectionate of all the dogs at my house.  To add insult to injury, this vet even called me and told me that I should have Bali put to sleep as her “expert” advice was that he would get more and more aggressive over the years.  My expert advice to her would be to stick to being vet and to leave the behaviour issues to those who know what they’re talking about.

Sandy is next up for a shave but she loathes having her hair cut as much as she hates having a bath.  I manage to get most of the coat off, but she still ends up with odd sprouts of long hair sticking out here and there.

 Murphy, the Wanchai terrier, is also part schnauzer and has the same coat as Bali as well as the same indifference to being shaved.  In fact he really rather likes it, and he also loves having a bath.  Those who know Murphy find it hard to believe, but he is the easiest dog to groom.

Jerry

Jerry

 I decide to let the puppies that live in my bedroom free.  They don’t exactly have access to the room, but they have a large inside area which leads onto the balcony, and they have started to show signs of wanting to join the dogs they can see running around in the garden.  As I’m at home and can supervise,  I carry the puppies downstairs and let them go.  They’re part ecstatic, part scared, and they approach the bigger dogs with the typical submissive posture: ears back, body low and tip of the tail wagging.  The response of the dogs varies from indifference to “get away from me”, while a few of the doglets think they have new toys to play with.  After a short time the novelty wears off and the pups are free to explore.  They are at the age and stage where they need the space to run and I know there is no going back (to the bedroom), but how will they all fit in downstairs?  They needs homes, and soon.

 My final task of the day is to give medicated washes to the baby pups who live on the top floor of the house.  This includes Nero, the survivor of the three brothers.  Like quite a of of puppies that are born outside (to homeless mothers),  several of the pups have patches of ringworm, a fungal infection that is often the sign of a poor immune system.  In the case of young puppies like these, I don’t usually need to give any treatment other than good food, shelter and the occasional shampoo with Malaseb and dabs of antifungal cream.

 It’s the end of the day and I just have time to do my monthly accounts, a job I put off for as long as I can but it’s something that has to be done. Paperwork – ugh!

To help us save more dogs’ lives, click here to make a donation.

4 Responses to “Saturday 6th June: Homework”

  1. ken Says:

    Sally,

    Wow, so much work to do, and lots of love to be seen when reading your saturday daily work.

  2. Yanki Says:

    “Saturdays are a good day for me as our strong team at the kennels means that there is no need for me to go in.”….XDDD~~love to see these two lines of your lovely wordings~~=D…

    we just wanna help as much as we can~~~we work hard in kennel on our weekend…but you work hard everyday from mon to sun for the doggies~~ Sally~thank you thank you thank you!!!!^x^

    haha..add oil on the paperwork ar!

  3. Vivian Says:

    i’m glad that you can take a break from traveling to the kennels on saturdays. leave it to us! we also had a little bathing day at the kennels yesterday! shirley loves the idea of having a shower in this kind of heat. she came back for more after her turn. i’m sure she will enjoy her private pool with pepsi in their new home.

  4. Vivian Says:

    Years ago we had a similar situation which our shepherd could not get along with our maid. (Dog: She knew that the maid worked for us only. Maid: too dumb in understanding the dog’s intelligence.)

    My mum made a decision that this maid should find another employer.

    Our family made it very clear that whoever works for us, he/she should respect our dog who is very much part of our family.

Leave a Reply

